Various Artists: Tomorrow’s Achievements: Parry Music Library 1976-86


RELEASED : 15th October 2012

25 track LP (Ltd 400 copy pressing) / Download

This is Tomorrow’s Achievements, an exclusive Public Information foray into the Canadian Library institution, Parry Music.

With access granted by founder John Parry we have selected twenty-five of our favourite electronic tracks, a late summer / early autumn heat-wave of perfect melody.

Parry Music was founded in Toronto, 1974 by John Parry and Chris Stone. John was formerly a manager of revered UK library Chappell Music and Chris was a Canadian music consultant, both brought some familiar musicians to the table.

Johnny Hawksworth, Robin Artus, Paul Kass, Nino Nardini (close allies with Roger Roger) are on board Tomorrow’s Achievements . At the same time we have a little known Canadian Library musician who features heavily, one Harry Forbes.

Forbes is the real driving force of our Parry-Love; a master of imminent, hummable melody, sublime synth miniatures baked in sweetness. Elsewhere we revel with the other players in proto-Balearic house, groovy electronic disco, spooked choral drone, freaked-modular scorch, weird Radiophonic bleep. These are the soundtracks to movie car chases never known, lost kids TV shows never realized, radio-ads never broadcast – music to make your ears sing for more.

A compliation put together piece by piece at Public Information HQ, lovingly re-mastered by Rashad at D&M and artwork by Jack Featherstone.

A1. Dawn Light: Robin Artus
A2. Bio-Rhythm: Paul Kass
A3. Digits: Harry Forbes
A4: New Invention: Nino Nardini
A5 Solar Energy: Russ Walker
A6: Alpha Micro: Robin Artus / Paul Kass
A7: Builders 2: Harry Forbes
A8: Integrator: Hermann Langschwert
A9: Sonic Rhythm: Barry Schleifer
A10: Technomobile No.2: E Grenga / C Lawry / D Stevens
A11: Future Directions: Rick Miller
A12: Turbo Motion: Robin Artus / Paul Kass
A13: Automation: Robin Artus / Paul Kass
A14: Utilities: Harry Forbes

B1: The Beginning: Johnny Hawksworth
B2: Time Lapse: Harry Forbes
B3: Poseidon: Paul Williams
B4: Cuboid: Kerry Beaumont
B5: Remote Control: Harry Forbes
B6: Moving Patterns: Barry Schleifer
B7: Instroscan No.2: Paul Kass
B8: Communications : Harry Forbes
B9: Panorama No.2 : Robin Artus / Paul Kass
B10: Drone No.1: Harry Forbes
B11: Tomorrow’s Achievements: Harry Forbes

A few words about Parry and the composers from founder and owner John Parry :

The Parry Music Library was founded in 1974 inToronto,Canada, by John Parry and Chris Stone. John had previously managed the Chappell library inEnglandbefore migrating and Chris had an existing library music consultancy company inToronto. This partnership also started a company representing and marketing other foreign music libraries acrossCanada. Through John’s many composer contacts inEngland, several contributed to the new library.

Robin Artus and Paul Kass were notable electronic writers. Johnny Hawksworth was a well-known double bass player, who played with the Ted Heath band in the 1940s and went on to compose and arrange countless compositions for big bands, small ensembles and electronic instrumentations. Canadian composers were drawn to Parry Music, in particular Harry Forbes who had a very successful career in composing electronic music for educational television – science and children’s shows in particular. He was also a good acoustic guitar player. Kerry Beaumont, an Englishman living in Toronto and later the USA, is a fine keyboard player and produced many recordings for the library, many in classical styles. He now resides in England as a church organist and choir master. Russ Walker, from Toronto, is renowned for his flute playing and acoustic guitar, having made numerous recordings of mainly folk music. He also runs a successful post production studio in Toronto. Other writers represented in this album have contributed many recordings to the Parry Music Library and continue to be active in the field.

John Parry, Florida, 2012

        B      U      Y



Honest Jons


Rough Trade



Categorised as: Artists, Discography

Comments are closed.